RSS

MINIMALISM………RETRO-STYLE.

23 Oct

This HEAVY hardwood truck is quite old.

I purchased it about 10 years ago from a then soon-to-be-closed Separate School…the name for the Catholic Elementary schools in this province.

I’m not sure exactly how old it is but about 8 years ago when I did a short working stint at the local wood mill I met a couple of  30-40 aged men who BOTH remembered having played with it when they were school aged kids.

It has no manufacturer’s name but from the look, quality and history I am aware of I believe it is from the 1950′s.

Just for amusement I weighed it on my digital scale and it came in at an astounding 12.7 pounds!

Today if it were sold in North America I’m certain it would HAVE to come with a safety warning about possible injury if your brother whacked you with it.

Below that picture is my grandson who visited us with his sister 2 days ago, playing with it and STILL unable to do any damage to it……that doesn’t mean the house however.

Imagine the ‘future’ loss of sales this truck experienced lasting, as it did, an astounding 60+ years and STILL going strong.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “MINIMALISM………RETRO-STYLE.

  1. jackscrap

    October 23, 2011 at 12:53 am

    There are very few toys available these days that are as indestructible as this truck sounds.

     
    • Wayne

      October 23, 2011 at 5:03 am

      Absolutely! Even Tonka pales in comparison.

       
  2. danudin

    October 23, 2011 at 2:05 am

    I was born before 1950 and recall seeing something similar to that as an extremely small child, only difference being that the wheels were white and I believed that they were made of Gutta-Percha, I remember that because at the time I was told that was what Golf Balls were going to be made out of?? To the best of my memory when I first saw and used that similar toy it was old and obviously well used. I would rethink the age by a decade or two!

     
    • Wayne

      October 23, 2011 at 5:01 am

      Thanks for the info Ron. As I said…it was only a guess.
      The only identifying marks on it were the wheels…made by an American company in business since the 1800′s so not much help there.
      Solid plastic wheels and a very heavy steel axle told me it was definitely NOT modern…that plus the hardwood construction.

       
    • Wayne

      October 26, 2011 at 4:21 pm

      Firstly what the heck is Gutta-Percha?
      Thanks for the info though….I may definitely have to re-think it’s age…as I said I met people who remember playing with THIS PARTICULAR TRUCK in that school…but it may well have been 40 years old then.

       
  3. Tony

    October 23, 2011 at 2:22 am

    Seems to me a beautiful toy.

     
  4. pcphoto

    October 23, 2011 at 10:32 am

    … thoughts and memories of yesteryear!

     
  5. lsvejda

    October 23, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    If the truck could talk what would it tell of about the different generations that played with it?

     
  6. Tammy

    October 24, 2011 at 8:46 am

    We have an old truck really similar to that…the old toys are the BEST!!!

     
  7. KarenAnn

    October 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    They sure don’t make em like they used to…the patina on this is gorgeous! The plastic ones nowadays are destroyed in less than a generation! And as you said…they (the manufacturers) “want” them to break so they can sell more! wooden toys are treasures!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

