RSS

TODAY’S THEME……………….Critters

07 Jan

Today’stheme is a bunch of critter tracks I took pictures of the other day.

Fresh snow makes it easy to view them and although I am by no means a skilled tracker most of these tracks are pretty easy to identify as they are animals I see every day up here.

The first one is of a Rabbit run….a regular path the make in both summer and winter…presumably to make their travel easier. Unfortunately it allows human hunters and animal hunters to easily follow them by scent AND visually by the path they left.

The second picture is a sort of closeup of the typical Rabbit track. If you don’t already know the direction of travel indicated by a Rabbit track is somewhat counter-logical as the rear feet are in FRONT of the front ones while they are traveling in other words the direction they are going will be shown as the bigger prints in front.

The next set are of a Squirrel….they have claws …unlike a Rabbit and will leave ‘drag’ marks of their claws incoming and outgoing when they run.

The next set is of a Partridge….they spent a LOT of time walking under the Pine trees where they seem to love the seeds and pine nuts they find. When one is frightened they don’t seem to like to fly far and don’t often fly more than a few yards into the nearest tree where they are nicely camouflaged.

The last picture is, I think a Fox track….most likely on the trail of Bunny…his favorite meal.

I hope these modest tracks provide some small entertainment.

I see HUNDREDS of them crossing and recrossing my bush road every time I go for a walk. When I find some others I will post them….Moose, Deer, Coyote or Wolf are some I expect to see this winter.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “TODAY’S THEME……………….Critters

  1. danudin

    January 7, 2012 at 1:05 am

    Okay Brer Rabbit, Brer Fox how come you didn’t track Brer Bear Uncle Mos’ ????? Hmmmm.

     
  2. hmca14

    January 7, 2012 at 1:33 am

    Interesting…………know our grandsons would love searching out these tracks. Like your blog layout!

     
  3. Steve

    January 7, 2012 at 3:38 am

    Good images and interesting info…tks

     
  4. jackscrap

    January 7, 2012 at 3:47 am

    I just love it when you impart your knowledge of the animals that live in your neck of the woods, animal tracks in the snow are something that I will probably never see for myself. One day I may post animal tracks that I find along a sandy beach, I did have a photo of a kangaroo once.

     
  5. thello

    January 7, 2012 at 5:15 am

    Thanks for the lesson about critter’s tracks, it’s really very interesting.

     
  6. Tammy

    January 7, 2012 at 9:46 am

    Now that is a wide variety of critters…just glad you saw no bear claws! :)

     
  7. lsvejda

    January 7, 2012 at 10:39 am

    Love the animal track photos . . . will be waiting to see moose, deer, coyote, wolf, etc . . .

     
  8. dragonfurflying

    January 7, 2012 at 11:37 am

    Very nice! I love finding someone interested in what Mother Nature is telling you! So many things people miss these days–and don’t know that they’re missing them.
    We don’t have the snow you do (thank goodness–I’m not a cold weather soul!), but we still have plenty of wildlife–one just has to watch and pay attention. Mother Nature has a lot to say, if we’ll just listen.
    Great photos! Great attention!

     
  9. PC PHOTO

    January 8, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    Very cool critter track info. I’m wondering how far you tracked each set.

     
  10. Christina, Sweden

    January 15, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    tracks outside always makes me imagine the animal behind passing through. I se several of those in the woods around here, mostly rabbits, deers and mooses and an occational fox (as the ones you show) and even mices as they passes the walkways I use in the forest.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

