RSS

TODAY’S THEME………………MY FAVORITE SPOT

24 Mar

I hope everyone has a favorite spot where they feel comfortable.

I found this one many years ago when we first bought this property.

You would think with 80 odd acres to choose from I would have found something FAR away from my house yet this spot, although well camouflaged is not more than a 1/4 mile from my house.

Not on my bush road I found it one day while ‘exploring’ my then new property.

The rock is my ‘thinking’ place and it has served me well over the years.

I ALWAYS go there alone…..or with the dogs but never with people….that would defeat the purpose of it…..for me at any rate.

All the madness and stress of life melts away when you sit on the rock….and listen to ONLY the birds call and the rustle of critters around you going about their business.

No cell phones,,,,no traffic noise…….no nattering people wanting your attention for something or other.

If I stay long enough the animals….small ones anyway, ignore me and seem to venture closer to find out what this new ‘creature’ is.

This year….a few days ago I saw signs of a new ‘adventurer’ from my rock……and I realized I was the intruder in HIS world…not the other way round.

I know they are afraid of us so I don’t usually fear them but this time of year one has to be cautious as when they are with their young….and kids are ALWAYS curious….they are VERY dangerous.

I would NEVER think of venturing back there without my dogs…..they are sufficiently noisy and active that no Bear would venture very close….not even a cub.

The tree, by the way, shows a typical marking of a mature Bear which ‘claws’ or marks the tree as a way of both sharpening their claws….much as a housecat does AND defining it’s territory….NO PROBLEM….I got that part.

These marks are VERY fresh and I would estimate they were done within the last few days,,,,not much longer as the bark hasn’t had a chance to even begin to curl.

It’s a little scary but I can assure you…..you DEFINITELY feel ALIVE!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

11 responses to “TODAY’S THEME………………MY FAVORITE SPOT

  1. danudin

    March 24, 2012 at 2:28 am

    Normally I ask or suggest, but today I am demanding. Get your tripod out set the timer and you sit on the tock in the pose of Rodin’s Thinker – You can however remain clothed as I understand Canada is cold.

     
  2. Tony

    March 24, 2012 at 5:16 am

    Now be careful with all those bears!

     
  3. Cathy

    March 24, 2012 at 5:29 am

    Beautiful spot. And Ron’s suggestion would make a brilliant photo 🙂 as long as the bears keep away…..

     
  4. John & Lois

    March 24, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Beautiful spot 🙂

     
  5. Tammy

    March 24, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    I can see why that spot is your stress reliever, there is nothing like surrounding yourself with nature and it’s sounds! Beautiful (much more so without a bear)! 🙂

     
  6. birdgardenau

    March 24, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Ron, he said BEAR, not BARE! It looks like a great place to retreat to, but an unwrapped meal for that bear would just be crazy 🙂

     
  7. Lynn Mortensen

    March 25, 2012 at 8:42 am

    looks a perfect spot, I see that Dan says you live in Canada, east or west, bear’d trunks were part of our kid survival lessons, I grew up in Kamloops BC…

     
  8. lynn

    March 26, 2012 at 4:05 am

    zut Ron is going to have change his name to Dan…

     
  9. Steve

    March 26, 2012 at 4:56 am

    Great spot and great dialogue…..

     
  10. kim andrew

    March 26, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    Love the story behind the photos, and the photos are great. We have walking sticks with bells on them to make loads of noise, and we make sure to watch for the bear scat and other signs. Stay safe!!!!!!

     
  11. KarenAnn

    March 31, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    That rock might be a meal magnet put there by the bears to make dinner easy to find!

     

Leave a comment